Tag Archives: beer writers awards

A celebration of Beer Writers…with one glaring omission!

2 Dec

The 2011 winners of the British Guild of Beer Writers Awards were announced last night (1 December) at a spectacular ceremony at London’s Park Plaza Riverbank hotel.

 The great and the good of the beer world including journalists, brewers and pub operators saw the very best beer writing and broadcasting recognised in the annual awards.

And an extremely big ‘congratulations’ to our very own Dea Latis member, Marverine Cole who was awarded the Adnams Award for Best Writing in Regional Media.

We were a little perplexed however….the 23 tables followed a theme – all of them named after famous beer drinkers. But, not one was named after a woman!

So beer fans – our challenge: can we come up with 23 famous beer drinking ladies?  Who knows, let’s try and get the tables named after the fairer sex at the 2012 awards!

 Post your comments below, on our Facebook page or tweet us @DeaLatis.

 The full list of winners:

Brewer of the Year 2011 – Evin O’Riordain, Kernel Brewery

Budweiser Budvar John White Travel Bursary – prize £1,000 plus trip to Czech Republic . Winner: Des de Moor

Shepherd Neame 1698 Award for Beer and Food Writing – prize £1,000. Winner: Mark Dredge

Thwaites Award for Best Corporate Communications – prize £1,000. Winner: Pete Brown

Brains SA Gold Award for Best Use of Online Media – £1,000 & £500. Winner: Martyn Cornell; Silver Award: Mark Charlwood

Adnams Award for Best Writing in Regional Media – prize £1,000 & £500. Winner: Marverine Cole; Silver Award: Gavin Aitchison

Fuller’s ESB Award for Best Writing for the Beer and Pub Trade – prize £1,000 & £500 . Winner: Ben McFarland: Silver Award: Glynn Davis

Molson Coors Award for Best Writing in National Media – prize £1,000 & £500 Winner: Adrian Tierney-Jones; Silver Award: Will Hawkes

The Michael Jackson Gold Award – Beer Writer of the Year 2011: Ben McFarland

%d bloggers like this: